Few surprises in Tuesday's primary


    The Indiana “May” primary was held Tuesday, after being delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
    While voting may have had a different look this primary season, there were few surprises among the Adams County Voters.
    On the national stage, President Donald J. Trump received the local and state nod to represent Republicans in the 2020 election, defeating Bill Weld. Joe Biden received the local and state vote for Democratic presidential candidate, defeating a long list of contenders.
    Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb is set to square off against Democratic hopeful Woodrow “Woody” Myers, as neither candidate was contested in the primary.
    U.S. District 3 State Representative Jim Banks handily won against challenger Christopher Magiera for the 2020 Republican ticket, both locally and in the state election.
    For the Democrats on the U.S. District 3 State Representative ticket, Chip Coldiron outlasted Carlos Marcano for the chance to run in the November election.
    District 70 State Representative Matthew Lehman will also be on the 2020 Republican ticket after defeating challenger Taylor Isch.
    In contested county primary races, Republicans Dennis C. Bluhm, Cathy Mitchel and John P. Summers were chosen to run for the 2020 County Council At-Large seats.
    Longtime County Commissioner Doug Bauman was defeated by challenger Steve L. Kuhn for the 2020 ticket. Kuhn will represent the Republican party for the District 3 County Commissioner seat in November.
    Republican Edgar Dyer will seek the position of Adams County Treasurer in November after defeating Donna Mahan for the party nod.
    Deborah Sutton King and Gary Hendershot will run on the Republican ticket in November for the Geneva Town Council At-Large seats.
    Incumbent Geneva Clerk-Treasurer Jane Kaverman will represent the Republicans on the 2020 ballot after defeating challenger John C. Buckingham.
    Running uncontested were Republican Tony Mellencamp for County Auditor, Republican Stan Stoppenhagen for County Commissioner in District 1, Thomas Krueckeberg for County Recorder, Dean Amstutz for County Coroner, Arlen Mitchel for Geneva Council District 1 and Patrick Miller for Superior Court Judge.